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HB 258 was signed into law by Governor John Kasich on December 19, 2014.  This new 

law changes the scope of practice for licensed Spectacle opticians in Ohio.  The law does 

not have any impact on licensed Spectacle-Contact lens licensees or those who are 

Contact lens licensed only. 

There are three (3) main changes to the law regulating spectacle opticians. 

ONE 

Beginning JANUARY 1, 2016, Spectacle licensed opticians will be permitted to 

dispense pre-packaged soft contact lenses if the only action necessary is to match the 

description of the contact lenses that is on the packaging to a written prescription 

(Section 4725.411 Ohio Revised Code). 

Spectacle licensed opticians will not be able to dispense prepackaged soft contact lenses 

based on a box/package of a previous refill.  The Spectacle licensed optician can only 

dispense the prepackaged soft contact lenses based on a written prescription that is either 

in a paper form handed to the optician or the prescription received at the place where the 

dispensing occurs and stored in the patient’s record. 

It is important to note that until January 1, 2016 Spectacle licensed opticians may not 

dispense the prepackaged soft contact lenses.  Any Spectacle licensed optician engaged in 

dispensing contact lenses prior to January 1, 2016 will be subject to discipline by the 

Optical Dispensers Board including, and up to, revocation of their license. 

TWO 

In 2015, Spectacle licensed opticians will be required to complete an additional two (2) 

hours of continuing education related to the dispensing of prepackaged contact lenses 

prior to each renewal beginning with the renewal of the 2016 license for a total of six (6) 

hours of continuing education. Spectacle licensed opticians will be required to complete 

the six hours of continuing education thereafter for each renewal period: 

 4 hours of study related to spectacle dispensing (current requirement); and, 

 2 hours of study in the form of contact lens dispensing related to prepackaged 

 soft contact lenses (new requirement). 

 

THREE 

ALL Spectacle dispensing opticians will be required to complete the 6 hours of 

continuing education for renewal regardless of the date of initial licensure; there is no 

longer an exemption from continuing education for the first renewal.  This means that if 

an individual receives his/her initial Spectacle license even  as late as November or 

December, prior to renewal for the following year, those individuals will be required to 



show proof of completing the required 6 hours of continuing education in order to renew 

that license for the following year. 

The continuing education is required for all Spectacle licensed opticians, even if they 

do not wish to dispense soft prepackaged contact lenses. 

 

APPRENTICES 

Supervisors of Spectacle apprentices will be required to add, after January 1, 2016, an 

educational component regarding the dispensing of soft prepackaged contact lenses to the 

list of tasks/procedures being taught to the registered apprentice.  Apprentices perform 

dispensing tasks only after the registered supervisor has determined that the apprentice 

has had the appropriate education, and the apprentice has demonstrated competency to 

perform the task/procedure.  Supervisors are required to document all educational 

components of the apprenticeship and the competency of the apprentice to perform those 

tasks/procedures. 

 

Summary 

The first thing to do is to plan to complete the 6 hours of continuing education in 2015 as 

described above.  For information about continuing education providers, please go to  

www.optical.ohio.gov and click on the “Continuing Education” link.  Qualified providers 

of continuing education are in the process of developing courses that will meet the 

requirements for the 2 hours of continuing education related to the dispensing of 

prepackaged soft contact lenses competently and responsibly. 

 

Beginning January 1, 2016, Spectacle licensed opticians will be permitted to dispense 

prepackaged soft contact lenses.  After January 1, 2016, supervisors of registered 

apprentices will be required to add competencies for dispensing prepackaged soft contact 

lenses to the educational process of each Spectacle apprentice. 

 

Every year thereafter, Spectacle licensed opticians will be required to complete the 6 

hours of continuing education as described above for licensure renewal. 

 

Questions? 

 

Contact: 

Nancy Manns, Executive Director 

Optical Dispensers Board 

614-466-9707 

nmanns@odb.ohio.gov 
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